The word “Dasha” means a stage in life. It reflects the planetary positions of various planets in a chart and what planet is ruling that stage of your life. Certain planetary periods will enhance positive or negative effects in your life and they are produced by the placement of the planet by sign, house and combinations of other planets.

There are about 42 different Dasha’s systems and the one used more popularly is the Vimshotari Dasha which stands for the number 20.
Each planet has different cycles for the stages of life. There are 9 total cycles for the 7 planets and 2 shadow planets, Rahu and Ketu. The duration of cycles are as follows:

Sun — 6 years
Moon — 10 years
Jupiter — 16 years
Mars — 7 years
Venus — 20 years
Mercury — 17 years
Saturn — 19 years
Rahu — 18 years
Ketu — 7 years

These cycles are called Mahadashas. The word “Maha” means great. The word “Dasha” means a stage in life. So for example, the Sun Mahadasha refers to the stage in one’s life that will be dictated by the sun. 

Next week we will continue learning about the different Dashas. Remember, the Mahadasha you are currently in can be calculated by analyzing the positions of the stars and planets at various moments of your life. Knowing which stage you are in and if the respective astrological entity is positioned properly can be critical in ensuring a smooth life. Book an appointment today to learn more.