Firstly, what is a Mahadasha? The word “Maha” means great. The word “Dasha” means a stage in life. The Guru or Vyazhan Mahadasha refers to the stage in one’s life that will be dictated by the planet Jupiter.

Jupiter is one of the most beneficial and positive entities in Vedic astrology. It dictates aspects such as:

- Spirituality
- Children
- Education
- Luck
- Marriage

The Jupiter Mahadasha lasts about 16 years in total. Coming after one of the most difficult dashas, Rahu, Jupiter is a breath of fresh air. Jupiter tends to give individuals things that most people strive for. A positive placement will give a great education, spouse, job, income, and overall prosperity. A less favorable placement will still bring the benefits or Jupiter, however it will not be as pronounced and will not come in a timely manner. It will bring satisfaction, but only somewhat. An unfavorable placement tends to create a period of learning for the individual, so with Jupiter, there is always something to be gained.

The Mahadasha you are currently in can be calculated by analyzing the positions of the stars and planets at various moments of your life. Knowing which stage you are in and if the respective astrological entity is positioned properly can be critical in ensuring a smooth life.