We have already spoken about the 12 signs in the zodiac but there is an additional division of the zodiac which is split into 27 Nakshatras or Constellations. In Hindu mythology, all the twenty seven Nakshatras are the daughters of King Daksha and the Moon is married to all of them and spends one day in each individual constellation; therefore, the lunar month is around 27 days, same as the number of Nakshatras.

The 27 Nakshatras (Constellations) are divided 13.20 degrees from each other in the zodiac chart. Each Nakshatra is said to carry its own characteristic or attribute which in turn influences a person at birth since the presence of the Moon in whichever constellation it is in on the day one is born ends up being their Janma Nakshatra or Birth Constellation.

Nakshatras can be used for many purposes such as determining periods of major and minor events in a person’s life and also when picking out auspicious dates (muhurtha) and times for important events.

The 27 Nakshatras are as follows:

1. Rohini
2. Uttara Phalguni
3. Uttara Ashadha
4. Uttara Bhadrapada
5. Punarvasu
6. Swati
7. Shravana
8. Dhanishtha
9. Shatabhisha
10. Bharani
11. Magha
12. Purva Phalguni
13. Purva Ashadha
14. Purva Bhadrapada
15. Ashwini
16. Pushya
17. Hasta
18. Mrigashira
19. Chitra
20. Anuradha
21. Revati
22. Ardra
23. Ashlesha
24. Jyeshtha
25. Mula
26. Krittika
27. Vishakha

To learn more about what is written in the stars and for help picking auspicious dates to embark on major life events and journeys, Book An Appointment today.